Student Academy Award Winners Unveiled

Academy Awards Stage H 2016
Kevin Winter/Getty Images

This year's honorees join past Student Academy Award winners Pete Docter and Cary Fukunaga.

The winners of this year's Student Academy Awards were announced on Monday, with honorees coming from AFI and USC, as well as DePaul University and Michigan State University.

This year, 1,749 films were received from 286 domestic and 95 international colleges and universities. First-time honors include Maharishi University of Management, DePaul, Michigan State and the Polish National Film, Television and Theater School.

All of the Student Academy Award winners will be allowed to submit in the 2016 documentary short subject, animated short film or live action short film category.

The group joins past Student Academy winners including Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, John Lasseter and Spike Lee. 

The 43rd Student Academy Awards ceremony will take place Sept. 22 at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

See the full list of winners below.


All These Voices, David Henry Gerson, American Film Institute  
Cloud Kumo, Yvonne Ng, City College of New York
The Swan Girl, Johnny Coffeen, Maharishi University of Management  


Die Flucht, Carter Boyce, DePaul University
Once upon a LineAlicja Jasina, USC
The Wishgranter, Echo Wu, Ringling College of Art and Design  


Fairy TalesRongfei Guo, New York University
4.1 Miles, Daphne Matziaraki, University of California, Berkeley
From Flint: Voices of a Poisoned City, Elise Conklin, Michigan State University  


It’s Just a Gun, Brian Robau, Chapman University
Nocturne in Black, Jimmy Keyrouz, Columbia University
Rocket, Brenna Malloy, Chapman University  

Foreign Narrative

Invention of Trust, Alex Schaad, University of Television and Film Munich (Germany)
TenantsKlara Kochanska, The Polish National Film, Television and Theatre School (Poland)
Where the Woods End, Felix Ahrens, Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (Germany)

Foreign Animation

Ayny, Ahmad Saleh, Academy of Media Arts Cologne (Germany)  

Foreign Documentary

The Most Beautiful Woman, Maya Sarfaty, Tel Aviv University (Israel)