Student Academy Award Winners Revealed


The prizes will be awarded at a ceremony on Sept. 17.

Fifteen students have emerged as winners of the 42nd Student Academy Awards.

The winners — chosen from a record number of entries that included 1,686 films from 282 domestic and 93 international colleges and universities — will receive their awards at a ceremony at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills on Sept. 17. The medal placements — gold, silver and bronze — will be announced at that time.

Winners were selected by Academy members from 33 finalists who were announced last month.

First-time honors went to Chapman University in the Alternative category and Filmakademie Wien in the Foreign Film competition. Students from the American Film Institute swept the narrative film category, claiming all three prizes.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 47 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. Previous winners include Pete Docter, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):


“Chiaroscuro,” Daniel Drummond, Chapman University, California

“Zoe,” ChiHyun Lee, The School of Visual Arts, New York


“An Object at Rest,” Seth Boyden, California Institute of the Arts

“Soar,” Alyce Tzue, Academy of Art University, San Francisco

“Taking the Plunge,” Nicholas Manfredi and Elizabeth Ku-Herrero, The School of Visual Arts


“Boxeadora,” Meg Smaker, Stanford University

“I Married My Family’s Killer,” Emily Kassie, Brown University

“Looking at the Stars,” Alexandre Peralta, University of Southern California


“Day One,” Henry Hughes, American Film Institute, California

“Stealth,” Bennett Lasseter, American Film Institute

“This Way Up,” Jeremy Cloe, American Film Institute

Foreign Film

“Everything Will Be Okay…,” Patrick Vollrath, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

“Fidelity,” Ilker Catak, Hamburg Media School, Germany