Student Academy Awards Winners Announced

The honorees will be recognized at a June 8 ceremony hosted by Bob Saget.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has revealed the winners of this year’s Student Academy Awards.

Each honoree will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities, which will culminate in a June 8 ceremony to be hosted by Bob Saget. The comedian and Full House alum won a Student Academy Award of his own in 1978.

At that ceremony, winners will be placed into gold, silver and bronze categories.

The Student Academy Awards will be held at 7:30 p.m. at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The event is free and open to the public, but requires advanced tickets.

Past recipients of the awards include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

See the list of 2013 winners below. They are listed alphabetically by film title.


“Bottled Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College

“The Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts

“Zug,” Perry Janes, University of Michigan


“Dia de los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design

“Peck Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design

“Will,” Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts


“Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,” Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts

“A Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, University of Southern California

“Win or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University


“Josephine and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, University of Southern California

“Ol’ Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin

“Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl),” Mauro Mueller, Columbia University

Foreign Film

“Miss Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom

“Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland

“Tweesprong (Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus College Brussels, Belgium