Student Oscar winners chosen

Honorary Foreign Film award recipient also selected

Eleven students from eight colleges and universities have been named winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 35th annual Student Academy Awards competition. One Honorary Foreign Film award recipient was also selected.

In the alternative category, winners are "Circles of Confusion," Phoebe Tooke, San Francisco State University; and "Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant," Shih-Ting Hung, University of Southern California. For animation, the Academy recognized "Simulacra," Tatchapon Lertwirojkul, The School of Visual Arts; "The Visionary," Evan Mayfield, Ringling College of Art and Design; "Zoologic," Nicole Mitchell, California Institute of the Arts. Documentary honorees are "As We Forgive," Laura Waters Hinson, American University; "If a Body Meet a Body," Brian Davis, University of Southern California; and "Unattached," J.J. Adler, Columbia University. Winners for narratives are "A Day's Work," Rajeev Dassani, University of Southern California; "Pitstop," Melanie McGraw, University of Southern California; and "The State of Sunshine," Z. Eric Yang, Florida State University.

The Honorary Foreign Film award will be presented to "On the Line (Auf der Strecke)," from Reto Caffi, Academy of Media Arts, Germany.

The 35th Annual Student Academy Awards presentation will be held on June 7 at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The U.S. winners' placement -- Gold, Silver or Bronze -- will be revealed during the ceremony.