Sundance 2013: Festival Awards Announced

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Sundance - H 2013

UPDATED: Grand jury prizes go to "Fruitvale" (drama) and "Blood Brother" (documentary) during a ceremony near Park City Saturday.

The Sundance Film Festival honored its top entries during an evening ceremony Jan. 26 near Park City, where 26-year-old Ryan Coogler’s drama Fruitvale was honored with both the Audience Award and Grand Jury Prize.

“It’s about how we treat people we love the most, and how we treat the people we don’t know,” Coogler said. “To get this award means it had a profound impact on the audiences who saw it.

Emcee Joseph Gordon-Levitt expressed his feelings for the film, based on the 2009 shooting of Oscar Grant by BART officials in Oakland, a little differently: “I f---ing love that movie!” he exclaimed after the film took home the Audience Award.


Both the Audience Award and Grand Jury Prize for a documentary went to Steve Hoover's Blood Brother. Hoover choked up while accepting the Grand Jury Prize for his film, which centers on a young man assisting HIV-positive children in India. The film's subject, Rocky Braat, said the win was “encouraging” for the kids.

“Their lives are so challenging -- they die, and no one remembers their names,” Bratt said.

The ceremony took place just north of Park City at the Basin Recreation Fieldhouse at Kimball Junction.

Gordon-Levitt opened the ceremony by speaking about the importance of Sundance to his awareness of independent film as a young man. “This isn't basketball. This is the movies. There are no winners and losers,” said the actor, who brought his directorial debut, Don Jon's Addiction, to the fest.

VIDEO: THR’s Sundance Video Diaries

Find the list of winners below.

U.S. Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:  Blood Brother , (Director: Steve Hoover)

U.S. Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: Fruitvale (Director and screenwriter: Ryan Coogler)

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: A River Changes Course  (Director: Kalyanee Mam)

PHOTOS: Sundance 2013: The Scene in Park City        

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: Jiseul  (Director and screenwriter: Muel O)

Audience Award, U.S. Documentary: Blood Brother (Director: Steve Hoover)

Audience Award, U.S. Dramatic: Fruitvale (Director and screenwriter: Ryan Coogler)

Audience Award, World Cinema Documentary: The Square (Al Midan) (Director: Jehane Noujaim)

Audience Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Metro Manila (Director: Sean Ellis, Screenwriters: Sean Ellis, Frank E. Flowers)

Audience Award, Best of NEXT: This Is Martin Bonner (Director and screenwriter: Chad Hartigan

Directing Award, U.S. Documentary: Cutie and the Boxer U.S.A. (Director: Zachary Heinzerling)

Directing Award, U.S. Dramatic: Afternoon Delight (Director and screenwriter: Jill Soloway)

Directing Award, World Cinema Documentary: The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear (Director: Tinatin Gurchiani)

Directing Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Crystal Fairy (Director and screenwriter: Sebastián Silva)

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award, U.S. Dramatic: In a World... (Director and screenwriter: Lake Bell)

Screenwriting Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Wajma (An Afghan Love Story)  (Director and screenwriter: Barmak Akram)

Editing Award, U.S. Documentary: Gideon's Army (Director: Dawn Porter)

Editing Award, World Cinema Documentary: The Summit  (Director: Nick Ryan)

Cinematography Award, U.S. Documentary: Dirty Wars  (Director: Richard Rowley)

Cinematography Award, U.S. Dramatic: Bradford Young for Ain’t Them Bodies Saints and Mother of George

Cinematography Award, World Cinema Documentary: Who Is Dayani Cristal?  (Director: Marc Silver)

Cinematography Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Lasting (Director and screenwriter: Jacek Borcuch)

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Achievement in Filmmaking: Inequality for All (Director: Jacob Kornbluth)

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Achievement in Filmmaking: American Promise (Directors: Joe Brewster, Michèle Stephenson)

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting: Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley in The Spectacular Now (Director: James Ponsoldt)

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Sound Design:  Shane Carruth and Johnny Marshall for Upstream Color (Director and screenwriter: Shane Carruth)

World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award: Circles (Director: Srdan Golubovic)

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Punk Spirit: Pussy Riot -- A Punk Prayer (Directors: Mike Lerner, Maxim Pozdorovkin)

Short Film Audience Award, Presented by YouTube: Catnip: Egress to Oblivion? (Director: Jason Willis) -- Catnip is all the rage with today's modern feline, but do we really understand it? This film frankly discusses the facts about this controversial substance.