Sundance/NHK nods to 4 'visionary' directors


PARK CITY -- Four filmmakers will each receive $10,000 and Japanese television broadcast rights for their next project thanks to this year's Sundance/NHK International Filmmaker Awards, it was announced Thursday.

The winning filmmakers are Lucia Cedron ("Agnus Dei") from Latin America, Caran Hartsfield ("Bury Me Standing") from the U.S., Tomoko Kana ("Two by the River") from Japan and Dagur Kari ("The Good Heart") from Europe.

Sundance Institute staffers will assist each winner in obtaining financing and distribution for their upcoming projects. Their next features will be shown on NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corp.), which has five 24-hour TV and three radio channels in Japan.

Each winner was chosen from 12 finalists based on their projects.

The jury included Brad Silberling, Bent Hamer, Pawel Pawlikowski, Rafael Yglesias and other filmmakers.

The awards were founded in 1996 to "support visionary film directors" from four global regions: Europe, Latin America, the U.S. and Japan. Previous recipients include Miranda July, Andrucha Waddington, Walter Salles and Chris Eyre.

The winners will receive the award Saturday at the Sundance Film Festival awards ceremony.