Superhero, wrestler make the ADG scene


Harvey Milk's camera shop, Batman's lair and Randy "The Ram" Robinson's wrestling ring all got a shout-out as the Art Directors Guild announced the nominees for its 13th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards.

The awards, which will take place Feb. 14 at the Beverly Hilton with "Breaking Bad's" Bryan Cranston serving as host, will be presented in nine categories, covering film, TV and commercials.

Production designer James J. Murakami earned two film noms for his work on Clint Eastwood's "Changeling" and "Gran Torino."

In the TV categories, John Shaffner earned noms for "How I Met Your Mother" and "Two and a Half Men" and for "The 2008 Primetime Emmy Awards." Keith Ian Raywood also was a triple nominee, for "30 Rock" and "Saturday Night Live" as well as "The 2008 MTV Video Music Awards."

The ADG's Outstanding Contributions to Cinematic Imagery Award will be presented to George Lucas by Ron Howard. A lifetime achievement honor will go to Oscar-winning production designer Paul Sylbert, and the ADG will induct production designers Ted Haworth, Mac Johnson, Romain Johnston, John Meehan and Harold Michelson into its Hall of Fame.

A complete list of nominees is at (partialdiff)