Sydney Fest confirms final jury line-up

Barrett, Yonfan to feature films at fest

 SYDNEY -- Two days ahead of the opening of the Sydney Film Festival, organizers Monday announced the final make-up of the jury for the festival’s official competition.

British documentary maker Lucy Walker is joining the five-member jury which includes president Jan Chapman; John Cooper, director of the Sundance Film Festival; Australian director Shirley Barrett, whose latest feature “South Solitary” opens the festival Wednesday; and Hong Kong director Yonfan, whose “Prince of Tears” has its Australian premiere at the festival.

They’ll award the AUD$60,000 ($50,000) Sydney Film Prize to one of 12 films in competition.

Festival director Clare Stewart said, “I am delighted with our final jury line-up, an internationally acclaimed group of filmmakers and industry professionals who are successful risk-takers and personally embody the values for which the Official Competition stands – courageous, audacious and cutting-edge.” 

Meanwhile organizers have convened a special industry partnership day in conjunction with Screen Australia  and Screen NSW on Thursday, June 10. The one-day conference centers on the impact of social media and digital distribution on content development and marketing.

The 57th annual Sydney Film Festival runs from June 2-14.
comments powered by Disqus