'A Simple Life' Wins Grand Prize at Tallinn Film Festival

A Simple Life Still - Venice Film Festival - P 2011

A Simple Life Still - Venice Film Festival - P 2011

"We Need to Talk About Kevin's" Lynne Ramsay awarded as the best director.

TALLINN – The China/Hong Kong co-production Tao Jie (A Simple Life), directed by Ann Hui, was awarded the Grand Prix of the Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival at the award ceremony held at the Estonian capital’s Nokia Concert Hall on Nov. 30.

The moving tale of an elderly woman learning about the meaning of family after suffering a stroke also picked up a €10,000 cash award and the FICC Jury Award.

British director Lynne Ramsay collected the Best Director award of the festival’s main competition program, Eurasia, for her film We Need to Talk About Kevin.

Norway’s Sven Nordin was awarded as the Best Actor for his role in Jens Lien’s Sønner av Norge (Sons of Norway) and Deanie Ip collected the Best Actress award for her role in A Simple Life.

The Jury Prize for Outstanding Performance in Cinematic Language went to Cocco and Shinya Tsukamoto, the stars of the Japanese film Kotoko, which Shinya Tsukamoto also directed.

The Tridens Baltic Feature Film Jury split the award for Best Film – with a cash prize of €5,000 – between the Latvian film 33 Zveri Ziemassvetku Vecitim (33 Animals of Santa Claus) by Laila Pakalnina and the Finnish/Lithuanian co-production Barzakh, directed by Mantas Kvedaravicius. The latter film also collected the FIPRESCI Award for Best Baltic Film.

The Heave(i)n Estonian Film Award went to Katrin Laur’s Surnuaiavahi tütar (The Graveyard Keeper’s Daughter) and Mart Tarnel received the Best Cinematography award for his work on Rainer Sarnet’s Idioot (The Idiot).

The North American Indie Jury bestowed its award on Starbuck by Canadian director Ken Scott. The NETPAC Jury Award went to the Iranian film Mourning, directed by Morteza Farshbaf. Superclasico by Danish director Ole Christian Madsen collected the audience award.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards went to legendary Estonian animator Rein Raamat, Russian director Alexander Sokurov, Estonian director Rein Maran and Icelandic director Fridrik Thor Fridriksson.