Tele München Gruppe’s Herbert Kloiber Named As Fourth Brandon Tartikoff Award Honoree for 2013

Herbert Kloiber Kitzbuehel, Austria - P 2012
Andreas Rentz/Getty Images

Herbert Kloiber Kitzbuehel, Austria - P 2012

The veteran of 40 years leading one of Germany’s largest media companies joins John Langley, Debra Lee and Steven Levitan as honorees. The awards will be presented Jan. 29 during NATPE.

The 10th Annual Tartikoff Awards have added Herbert Kloiber, Chairman of Tele München Gruppe, as the fourth honoree when the awards are presented January 29th during the 2013 NATPE Market & Conference.

He joins three previously announced honorees -- reality television producer John Langley, BET Networks Chairman and CEO Debra Lee and “Modern Family” creator and executive producer Steven Levitan.

STORY: Herbert L. Kloiber, Son of Bavarian Mogul, Takes Number 2 Job at Tele-Munchen Group

Kloiber has built his company based in Germany over the past 40 years into a major media company with one of the largest television and film libraries in Europe. His company also distributes feature films, TV productions and classical music programs, many of which it produces.

Kloiber is also Chairman of the Board of CineMedia Film AG and a Member of the Board of Odeon Film AG. Since 2007 he has served as an Honorary Professor and head of the Department of Production and Media Economics at the Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich.

"He has built an extraordinary company whose longevity in the entertainment business is incredible,” said Rod Perth, WHO HE. “Coupled with John's creative vision that catalyzed an entire genre of unscripted programming, Debra's passionate advocacy on behalf of the cable business, and Steven's keen eye and deft touch with family comedy, this group represents what Brandon championed in television."

STORY: Herbert Kloiber's Tele-Munchen Group Ups Stake in Odeon Film

The Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award recognizes television professionals who exhibit extraordinary passion, leadership, independence and vision in the process of creating television programming, according to NATPE.

"For 10 years NATPE has continued to keep alive Brandon's love for TV with this award," said Lilly Tartikoff. "Herbert, Steven, John and Debra embody the spirit and joy for the business that were his hallmark."