'Ten Canoes' captures 3 AFI awards


SYDNEY -- Indigenous-language feature "Ten Canoes" captured three of the 15 Australian Film Institute Industry Awards handed out Wednesday night in Melbourne, ahead of Thursday's main nods for film and television.

"Ten Canoes" lenser Ian Jones picked up best cinematography, Tania Nehme won for best editing and James Currie, Tom Heuzenroeder, Michael Bakaloff and Rory McGregor took best sound.

Geoffrey Wright's "Macbeth" picked up two awards -- production design for David Mackay and costume design for Jane Johnston.

Mick Harvey won the award for best original music score for "Suburban Mayhem."

The International Award for Excellence in Filmmaking went to cinematographer Dion Beebe for his work on "Memoirs of a Geisha."

In the non-feature awards, documentary "Raul the Terrible" picked up two awards, with the nods going to David Bradbury for best direction in a documentary and Stewart Young for best editing.

Jackie Farkas won best cinematography in a documentary for docudrama "Hunt Angels," while best sound in a documentary went to Livia Ruzic, Mark Tarpey, Keith Thomas and John Willsteed for "Vietnam Nurses."

Short film "Stranded" picked up the two key awards in that category -- Kathleen O'Brien won best screenplay for a short film and actress Emma Lung picked up trophy for outstanding achievement.

The visual effects award went to Rose Draper and Mike Seymour for their groundbreaking work on "Hunt Angels" and Joseph H. Pickering won outstanding achievement in television screen craft for "The Forest."

Actor Geoffrey Rush is hosting both awards ceremonies, with Thursday night's black-tie event to be broadcast on the Nine Network. The main awards presenter lineup includes Cate Blanchett, Heath Ledger, Eric Bana, Daniel Radlciffe, Sam Neill and Baz Luhrmann.