Ten finalists named for Nicholl Fellowships

Chosen from among 6,304 submissions

Ten writers have been selected as finalists for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science' 25th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting. They were chosen from the 6,304 scripts that were submitted.

As many as five of the projects may be awarded the $30,000 fellowships once they are read and judged by the Academy's Nicholl Committee.

The committee is chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd and is composed of writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.

This year's finalists are:

Art Corriveau, Santa Fe, New Mexico, "Nicky Flynn Finally Gets a Life"

Destin Daniel Cretton, San Diego, Calif., "Short Term 12"

Sebastian Davis, Los Angeles, Calif., "Drunk-Dialing"

Marvin Krueger, North Hollywood, Calif., "And Handled with a Chain"

Andrew Lanham, Austin, Texas, "The Jumper of Maine"

Tim Macy, Kansas City, Mo., "The Last Queen"

Micah Ranum, Beverly Hills, Calif., "A Good Hunter"

Cinthea Stahl, North Hollywood, Calif., "Identifying Marks"

Logan Steiner, Redondo Beach, Calif., "The Promise of Spring"

Sage Vanden Heuvel, Ann Arbor, Mich., "Inner Earth"

comments powered by Disqus