Thomas Vinterberg's 'The Hunt' Sweeps Danish Academy Awards

Mads Mikkelsen Spirit Awards Arrivals - P 2013
Getty Images

Mads Mikkelsen Spirit Awards Arrivals - P 2013

The Oscar-nominated drama takes seven Robert Awards, including best actor for star Mads Mikkelsen.

Thomas Vinterberg's harrowing Oscar-nominated drama The Hunt swept this year's Danish Film Academy awards, taking seven Robert trophies, including best film, best director and best actor for lead Mads Mikkelsen as a kindergarten teacher accused of sexual abuse. Vinterberg also took best screenplay, sharing the honor with The Hunt co-writer Tobias Lindholm.

The movie, which is nominated in the best foreign-language film category at next month's Oscars, also picked up awards for best editing, best supporting actress for Susse Wold and the audience award for best Danish drama.

The Hunt has been a box-office hit at home, earning close to $8 million in Denmark alone.

STORY: Marrakech Fest: 'Hannibal' Star Mads Mikkelsen on Denmark's Oscar Entry 'The Hunt'

The other big winner at the 30th Robert Awards was Christoffer Boe's Sex, Drugs and Taxation, which scooped up four trophies, including a best supporting actor nod for Nicolas Bro as well as best costume, best set design and best makeup. Nicolas Winding Refn's trippy, violent Only God Forgives took home three awards -- for best score, best sound design and best cinematography.

Helle Fagralid received her first ever Robert award as best actress for her starring role in Sorrow and Joy.

Rasmus Heide's All for Two won the audience award for best comedy.

STORY: 'Nymphomaniac,' 'The Hunt' Lead Nominations for Denmark's Bodil Awards

Alfonso Cuaron's Gravity won the Robert for best American film while Abdellatif Kechiche's Blue Is the Warmest Color took the best foreign film honor.

The superhero movie Antboy won for best children's film as well as best visual effects.

In the television categories, it was a split between two successful exports, with the second season of The Bridge earning the best actress prize for Sofia Helin, Kim Bodnia winning best actor and Camilla Bendix best supporting actress. But the third season of Danish political drama Borgen took top honors as best Danish TV series and Borgen's Christian Tafdrup won the best supporting actor honor.