THR Leads 2012 National Entertainment Journalism Awards With 29 Nominations

Hollywood Reporter LA Press Club - P 2012
Cover by: Douglas Friedman

Hollywood Reporter LA Press Club - P 2012

Earning by far the most nominations for any entertainment publication or website, noms include Best Entertainment Publication, Best Website and Journalist of the Year.

The Hollywood Reporter has earned 29 nominations in the L.A. Press Club's 2012 National Entertainment Journalism Awards, including nods for Best Entertainment Publication, Best Website and Journalist of the Year.

THR led all nominees, with 29 in all. The Los Angeles Times was second, with 11. Southern California public radio station KPCC rounded out the top 3, with 10. 
"It's gratifying to see the immense talent and hard work by The Hollywood Reporter staff both in print and online recognized," said Janice Min, editorial director of The Hollywood Reporter. "It is a privilege to work with such extraordinary journalists." 
At the Nov. 18 awards ceremony in L.A., the L.A. Press Club will honor Min with their NEJ Luminary Award for Career Achievement, introduced by comedian and THR contributor Kathy Griffin – who herself was nominated for best print columnist for "Why You Should Stop Hiding Your Age." During the event, The Press Club will also honor Jane Fonda with its inaugural Visionary Award. She'll be introduced by Robert Redford.
Tickets to the event are available online.

Editor-at-large Kim Masters is a nominee for Entertainment Journalist of the Year on all platforms for her work with THR and KCRW.

Senior writer Leslie Bruce was nominated under the Business category for "The Guilt and Glory of Housewives."

Senior writer Daniel Miller received a nomination under Investigative work for "Scientology's Hollywood Real Estate Empire," and under Business for "Down the Rabbit Hole with Ron Tutor."

The staff of The Hollywood Reporter was nominated in the multimedia package category for "Rule Breakers 2011."

For personality profiles in print, Miller and news director Matthew Belloni were nominated for "The Nerd Who Burned Hollywood," their profile of Megaupload founder Kim Dotcom, and senior editor Stacey Wilson was nominated for "Conan O'Brien: End of the Pity Party."

In the category of print features over 1,000 words, THR earned nominations for contributor Jenny Eliscu's "The Making of Baby Bieber," Masters and Miller's "The Secret World of Hollywood Poker," and Wilson's "Conan O'Brien: End of the Pity Party."

In the category of features under 1,000 words, staff writer Gary Baum's "The 3,000 Mile Embrace" was nominated, as well as "Secrets of Hollywood Agency Mailrooms" from Belloni, Miller, senior writer Lacey Rose and senior writer Jay. A. Fernandez.

Under print critics, both chief film critic Todd McCarthy and chief television critic Tim Goodman earned noms. Goodman was also nominated in the Critic category online.

THR contributor Kathy Griffin was nominated for best print columnist for "Why You Should Stop Hiding Your Age."

In the Feature, Celebrity Oriented category, THR was nominated for its "Cannes Video Diaries and "Conan O'Brien: Behind the Scenes at the Cover Shoot May 2012" videos from Jennifer Laski, photo director, and Jennifer Sargent, deputy photo editor. The duo were also nominated for Best Documentary or Special Program, Feature for THR's "Emmy Drama Actors Roundtable June 2012."

Lesley Goldberg, television staff writer, was nominated for Online News, for "'Glee': Lea Michele, Chris Colfer, Cory Monteith Not Returning For Season 4."

For online Feature/Series, contributor Mitch Myers was nominated, for "Murdoch vs. Allen Ginsberg's 'Moloch': The Mash-Up." THR senior editor Eriq Gardner received a nom for "Hollywood Confronts SOPA Uprising."

THR's lead awards blogger, Scott Feinberg, was nominated under Entertainment Blog by an Individual for "The Race."

In the Photography category, THR's visuals team of creative director Shanti Marlar,  Sargent, senior photo producer Carrie Smith and photographer Wesley Mann earned two nominations for in the Portrait category, for "Michael J. Fox" and "Spike Lee." Under non-portrait, the team of Laski, Marlar, Sargent, Smith and photographer Joe Pugliese were nominated for "Conan O'Brien." Laski, Marlar, Sargent, Smith and photographer Ruven Afamador were also nominated for "Matt Lauer."