THR Named Best Publication, Website at National Entertainment Journalism Awards

Joe Pugliese

The Hollywood Reporter took home a total of eight awards at Sunday's ceremony, including entertainment journalist of the year for Kim Masters; editorial director Janice Min was honored with the NEJ Luminary Award for Career Achievement.

The Hollywood Reporter won eight awards at the L.A. Press Club's 2012 National Entertainment Journalism Awards, including nods for best entertainment publication and best website, during Sunday's ceremony at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.

In addition, THR editorial director Janice Min was honored with the L.A. Press Club's NEJ Luminary Award for Career Achievement, while Jane Fonda was presented with the group's inaugural Visionary Award. Min was introduced by comedian and THR contributor Kathy Griffin, while Fonda was introduced by Robert Redford.

Among the awards handed out Sunday night, THR editor-at-large Kim Masters was named entertainment journalist of the year on all platforms for her work with THR and KCRW.

For personality profiles in print, senior writer Daniel Miller and news director Matthew Belloni won for "The Nerd Who Burned Hollywood," their profile of Megaupload founder Kim Dotcom.

Miller also won in business category for "Down the Rabbit Hole With Ron Tutor" (a tie with Michael Calderone of the Huffington Post Media Group for his story “NBC’s Olympic Trials: In Quest for Ratings Gold, It Can’t Stumble”).

THR staff writer Gary Baum's "The 3,000 Mile Embrace" won in the category of features under 1,000 words.

THR senior editor Eriq Gardner won in the online feature/series category for "Hollywood Confronts SOPA Uprising."

In the Photography category, non-portrait, THR's visuals team of creative director Shanti Marlar, photo director Jennifer Laski, deputy photo editor Jennifer Sargent, senior photo producer Carrie Smith and photographer Joe Pugliese won for "Conan O'Brien."

Heading into Sunday's ceremony, THR led the field with 29 nominations.