Hollywood Reporter Tops National Arts and Entertainment Journalism Awards With 11 Wins

Photographed by Mike Rosenthal
Ellen Pompeo

Lacey Rose was named journalist of the year, while Daniel Fienberg was named best TV critic.

The Hollywood Reporter topped the 11th annual National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards on Sunday with a total of 11 wins, including print journalist of the year for Lacey Rose and best TV critic for Daniel Fienberg.

The awards were handed out at the National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards Gala on Sunday at the Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. Also honored at the ceremony were Carol Burnett with the Legend Award for Lifetime Achievement, ABC7 entertainment reporter George Pennacchio with the Luminary Award for Career Achievement, the late Los Angeles Times food and music critic Jonathan Gold with the Impact Award, and author Michael Connelly with the Distinguished Storyteller Award.

In the categories for any media platform, Rose also won for best business story for her Ellen Pompeo profile "How I Fought to Become TV's $20 Million Woman."

Fienberg also scored a second win, for best commentary analysis/trend, TV, for "Critic's Notebook: 'Curb,' Corden and Fallon — Do We Expect Too Much From Our Clowns?"

Winning best multimedia package were Jeanie Pyun, Seth Abramovitch, Gregg Kilday, Mark Morrison, Tatiana Siegel and Jennifer Laski for "Hollywood Legacies: Exclusive Photos of the Hustons, Poitiers, Sutherlands and More Showbiz Families."

In the print categories, Tatiana Siegel's "Playmate to Politico: How Pamela Anderson Became an International Woman of Mystery" won the award for best celebrity news.

Scott Feinberg won best TV/movie industry feature over 1,000 words for "'They Got the Wrong Envelope!': The Oral History of Oscar's Epic Best Picture Fiasco."

In the online categories, Aaron Couch and Byron Burton won best film/TV/theater feature for "'X-Men' at 25: The Unlikely Story of the Animated Hit No Network Wanted."

For best arts and entertainment feature, Abramovitch also won for "Death in a Hollywood Sex Dungeon: How a Top Agency Executive's "Mummification" Ritual Ended in Tragedy."

In the video categories, Stephen Galloway, Jennifer Laski, Stephanie Fischette and Laela Zadeh won best feature over five minutes for "Women in Entertainment Mentorship Program: This is not just a one-year bond."

THR also landed a win in the photo categories, with the award best news photo going to Laski, Marlar, Carrie Smith and Miller Mobley for "Ronan Farrow."