THR Wins Website of the Year; Stephen Galloway Named Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Stephen Galloway
Marc Royce

Galloway, a Cambridge graduate, joined THR in 1993, expecting it to be a one-year gig. "Almost 20 years later, it has come to define my life," he says wryly. In addition to writing,  he is devoted to THR's mentorship program, which pairs inner-city girls with top industry women.

THR Esq. along with THR's Merle Ginsberg, Gregg Kilday and Jennifer Laski and her photo team were among the night's big winners at the Los Angeles Press Club's Southern California Journalism Awards.

The Hollywood Reporter executive editor, features, Stephen Galloway was named entertainment journalist of the year and was named best website for a news organization Sunday at the Los Angeles Press Club's 55th Southern California Journalism Awards Gala.

THR won 10 awards at the ceremony, which took place at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

Galloway also won in the category of personality profile, magazines, for "The Dichotomy of Denzel." Music editor Shirley Halperin also had scored a nom in the category for "Snoop from Dogg to Lion."

Also in the online category, THR, Esq., edited by executive editor Matthew Belloni and senior editor Eriq Gardner, was named best blog.

The staff of won in the best online news category for their coverage of the fatal shooting at an Aurora, Colo., movie theater.

Senior writer Merle Ginsberg won best feature commentary under 1,000 words for "Red Carpet War Stories."

Film editor Gregg Kilday won the award for entertainment reviews/criticism/column for The Race. Chief film critic Todd McCarthy was also nominated in the same category for his essay on the Dark Knight Rises shootings in Aurora.

Photo director Jennifer Laski and her team won best documentary short in the TV category for their work on "Conan O'Brien." THR had also been nominated in the category for its "Breaking Bad" short.

"Emmy Drama Actor Roundtable" won for best feature documentary.

THR's photo team won best portrait photo for "Norman Lear, the Man Who Changed TV." THR also had been nominated in the category for "Whatever Happened to Ted Turner?"