Three European Directors to Participate in The Jeonju Digital Project

Jean-Marie Strauband, Claire Denis and Jose Luis Guerin to screen their 30-minute digital films.


SEOUL -- Three European directors will participate in “Jeonju Digital Project,” a special program by the Jeonju International Film Festival featuring 30-minute digital films by well-known filmmakers.

This year’s program features three directors -- Jean-Marie Strauband, Claire Denis and Jose Luis Guerin. Strauband is nicknamed “a militant of modern cinema" while Denis is known for her richly textural films and Guerin for exploring mysteries of life.

Previous participants of the section have included Japan's Nobuhiro Suwa, Philippine's Lav Diaz and Korea's Hong Sang-soo.

The Jeonju Digital Project specializes in screening digital shorts and experimental films.

Since 2007, the festival has extended the boundary of the Digital Project to include directors from Europe and Africa.