Former Time Inc. Editor-in-Chief Martha Nelson Added to Peabody Awards Board

Martha Nelson Headshot - P 2013
Time, Inc.

Martha Nelson Headshot - P 2013

The broadcasting honors also named two other board members

The former editor-in-chief of Time Inc., Martha Nelson, has been added to the board of the Peabody Awards, it was announced Monday by the University of Georgia, which oversees the annual broadcasting honors. 

Nelson resigned from her position at the top of the Time Inc. masthead during a reorganization in Oct. 2013, following two decades at the media company. She is among three new members who will join the board, which decides the recipients for the awards.

Other additions include Jonathan Gray, a University of Wisconsin media and cultural studies professor who has authored multiple academic works on TV entertainment, and Naibe Reynoso, a host and producer on ORA TV.

"Judging the great variety of electronic media materials that we receive is no easy task," said the director of the awards, Jeffrey P. Jones, in a statement. "These three individuals bring tremendous experience in and knowledge of media across platforms, genres and formats. They will contribute immensely to our efforts to locate and recognize excellence in all of its forms."

Fifteen board members are listed on the organization's site, including John Huey, also a former Time Inc. editor-in-chief, Eric Deggans, an NPR TV critic, and Elizabeth Guider, formerly of The Hollywood Reporter

The Peabody Award winners will be determined and announced during April 2015. 

Read more Hollywood Salaries Revealed, From Movie Stars to Agents (and Even Their Assistants)

12:39 p.m., Oct. 13 Corrects Naibe Reynoso's current TV role, which is not at KCAL/KCBS, but at ORA TV