Tina Fey, Julie Andrews to Pay Tribute to Carol Burnett

Carol Burnett Headshot - P 2012
Getty Images

Carol Burnett Headshot - P 2012

The TV legend will be awarded with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on Oct. 20.

Tina Fey, Julie Andrews and Tony Bennett will honor Carol Burnett at the Kennedy Center's 16th annual ceremony for the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

Burnett began her variety show, The Carol Burnett Show, in 1967, beginning a run of 11 seasons on CBS that produced 25 Emmy Awards. The 80-year-old comedian has won six Emmys herself as well as eight Golden Globes and 12 People's Choice Awards.

Tim Conway and Vicki Lawrence, castmembers on The Carol Burnett Show, also will salute the TV legend in Washington. The event will broadcast Nov. 24 on PBS.

PHOTOS: From 'Buffy' to 'X-Files': TV's Greatest Writers Rooms of All Time

"I can't believe I'm getting a humor prize from the Kennedy Center. It's almost impossible to be funnier than the people in Washington," Burnett said in a statement.

The actress' résumé includes starring in the films Once Upon a Mattress (1959), The Four Seasons (1981), Annie (1982) and Horton Hears a Who! (2008). Since her debut on The Garry Moore Show, she has made TV appearances on Mad About You, Glee, Desperate Housewives and Law & Order.

Fellow female comedians, including Amy Poehler, Rashida Jones, Maya Rudolph and Lucille Ball's daughter Lucie Arnaz, also will pay tribute to Burnett.

The Mark Twain prize honors comedians and satirists who have had an "impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain.”

STORY: Carol Burnett Wins Mark Twain Prize for Humor

Previous recipients include Richard Pryor (the first in 1998), Fey, Ellen DeGeneres, Will Ferrell, Bill Cosby and George Carlin.