Producers Guild to Honor Warner Bros.' Toby Emmerich With Milestone Award

Toby Emmerich - H - 2018

The chairman of the studio's film group will receive the award at the 30th annual PGA Awards ceremony in January.

Toby Emmerich, chairman of the Warner Bros. Pictures Group, will be the 2019 recipient of the Producers Guild of America’s Milestone Award, which will be presented to him at the 30th annual Producers Guild Awards on Jan. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. 

The Milestone Award is considered the PGA’s most prestigious honor, recognizing an individual or team who has made historic contributions to the entertainment industry.  In the past, the Guild has presented it to such industry figures as Clint Eastwood, Jim Gianopulos, Alan Horn, Bob Iger, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Sherry Lansing, Ron Meyer, Steven Spielberg, Tom Rothman and, in 2018, Donna Langley.

“Toby Emmerich is one of the most respected studio executives,” PGA presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher said in a joint statement announcing the honor. “He continues to deliver high-quality films in a variety of genres and attract some of the finest up-and-coming and veteran directors, as well as producers, and talent to create them. Under his leadership, Warner Bros. Picture Group had a record-breaking year in 2017 with hits including Dunkirk and continues to dominate this year’s box office with critical and commercial, but non-formula, hits such as Crazy Rich Asians and A Star Is Born. He embraces filmmakers and filmmaking, which is why we are honored to be able to recognize him this year with the Milestone Award.”

Emmerich commented, “The Producers Guild knows better than most that studio filmmaking is an intensely collaborative art form, and more often than not it is the producer who initiates, enables and protects great Hollywood movies.  “I've been lucky to work with and learn from many great producers throughout my career and want to thank the members of PGA for recognizing me, and the contributions of our teams at Warner Bros. and New Line, with this honor.”