Tokyo Film Festival: APSA Academy Film Fund Jury Announced

Courtesy of Getty Images

The jury members were announced at an MPA seminar at the Tokyo fest.

The jury for the Motion Picture Association's Asia Pacific Screen Awards Academy Film Fund was announced Friday at the Tokyo International Film Festival.

Joining fest programming director Yoshi Yatabe on the jury will be filmmaker and historian Andrew Pike, Indian actress Tannishtha Chatterjee and Chinese film producer and distributor Alexandra Sun. The jury will award four $25,000 grants to support, at script stage, new feature film projects from APSA Academy members.

Recipients of the eighth round of the grants, funded by the MPA, will be announced Nov. 23 during the 11th Asia Pacific Screen Awards in Brisbane, Australia.

"The 28 projects funded to date hail from 19 countries and areas of Asia Pacific, and represent the MPA's commitment to supporting and developing the work of storytellers from right across this region," said Motion Picture Association of America chairman Chris Dodd at the MPA Seminar at TIFF, where he and Yatabe made the announcement.