Tom Hanks back on AMPAS board

Academy appoints new governors in annual elections

After a year's hiatus, Tom Hanks is returning to the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts as a representative of the actors branch.

Four filmmakers who have not previously held slots as governors were chosen by their respective branches in the group's annual elections. They are James D. Bissell, elected by the art directors; Lynne Littman, representing the documentary branch; Robert G. Friedman, co-chairman and CEO of Summit Entertainment, elected by the public relations branch; and Bill Kroyer, who will rep short films and feature animation.

Littman was elected to fill the seat originally held by Michael Apted, who stepped down early because he is directing "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Dawn Treader," which will take him out of the country for much of the year. Littman will serve for two years, the remainder of Apted's term.

The balloting in the directors branch resulted in a tie between Gil Cates and Edward Zwick, triggering the first run-off the Academy has ever held in its voting for governors. A second ballot, due back by July 29, will be mailed to directors branch members this week.

Incumbent governors returning to the board include Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Rob Epstein, documentary; Tom Sherak, executives; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Bruce Broughton, music; Mark Johnson, producers; Kevin O‚Connell, sound; Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks, writers.

Governors are elected to three-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms. Fourteen of the Academy's 15 branches are repped by three governors each, and terms are staggered so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year. The relatively new makeup branch is represented by a single governor, Leonard Engelman, whose seat was not part of this election cycle.

Governors who were not up for re-election and who continue on the board are Annette Bening and Henry Winkler, actors; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, art directors; Owen Roizman and Vilmos Zsigmond, cinematographers; Martha Coolidge and Curtis Hanson, directors; Richard Pearce, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Dede Allen and Donn Cambern, film editors; Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Charles Fox and Arthur Hamilton, music; Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, producers; Sid Ganis and Marvin Levy, public relations; Carl Bell and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, visual effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, writers.
comments powered by Disqus