Spirit Awards: ?'Spotlight??' Director Tom McCarthy Urges Fellow Nominees to "Keep Making Movies"

McCarthy won best director during the awards, which honor indie titles.

Tom McCarthy was named best director at the Independent Spirit Awards on Saturday, and while accepting the honor, the Spotlight?? director had a message for his fellow directors.

"This is just an incredible bounty of riches," he began. "And to my fellow nominees, you're all so impressive. Todd [Haynes], specifically, your movies have inspired me for a long time. Sir, I salute you. And to the rest of you: Keep making movies. It's really inspirational."

McCarthy was nominated alongside fellow directors Todd Haynes (Carol), Sean Baker? (Tangerine), Cary Fukunaga (?Beasts of No Nation), ????Duke Johnson and Charlie Kaufman? (Anomalisa), and David Robert Mitchell? (It Follows?).

The award was presented by Jason Bateman, who joked that he handed each of the nominees his head shot before the show.

The film about The Boston Globe's investigation into decades of child sex abuse by Catholic priests later took home the award for best feature. Earlier in the night, McCarthy accepted the Robert Altman Award for Spotlight, which honors the film's ensemble cast (Billy Crudup, Paul Guilfoyle, Neal Huff, Brian d'Arcy James, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Liev Schreiber, Jamey Sheridan, John Slattery and Stanley Tucci).

Spotlight?? has already won a number of awards this season, including the SAG Award for best cast, three Critics' Choice awards, three Gotham awards and the WGA and BAFTA awards for best original screenplay. On Sunday, the film is up for six Oscars, including best picture.

The 31st Independent Spirit Awards took place at the Santa Monica Pier and aired on IFC. The night was hosted by Silicon Valley's Kumail Nanjiani and Saturday Night Live's Kate McKinnon.