Tom Morello returning as Nightwatchman

Releasing next solo album in late September

NEW YORK -- Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello is readying the release of his next solo album, "The Fabled City," due Sept. 30 via Epic.

The album is the follow-up to 2007's "One Man Revolution," which Morello released under the name the Nightwatchman. He is now billed at Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman.

"My goal was to capture the energy and emotion of the Nightwatchman live shows," he said. "There is a much more rocking quality to this record, solos and riffs, mixed with darker acoustic songs."

The 11-song set, which was produced by Brendan O'Brien, also features guest appearances by Shooter Jennings and System of a Down's Serj Tankian, Morello's partner in the activist organization Axis of Justice.

Beforehand, Morello is playing a handful of international festival dates with Rage Against the Machine in the summer, including an Aug. 2 slot at Lollapalooza in Chicago.

Rage Against the Machine's summer schedule includes dates in Portugal, France and the U.K., as well as the headlining performance at Lollapalooza.

Here is the track list for "The Fabled City":

"The Fabled City"
"Whatever It Takes"
"The King of Hell"
"Night Falls"
"The Lights Are on in Spidertown"
"Midnight in the City of Destruction"
"Saint Isabelle"
"Lazarus on Down" (featuring Serj Tankian)
"Gone Like Rain"
"The Iron Wheel" (featuring Shooter Jennings)
"Rise to Power"