Tony Awards: Kevin Spacey to Host

Kevin Spacey No Insignias - Getty - H 2016
Getty Images

Kevin Spacey No Insignias - Getty - H 2016

The annual ceremony highlighting the best of Broadway is set to take place June 11.

Kevin Spacey will host the upcoming Tony Awards, it was announced Tuesday by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The ceremony will air live June 11 (8-11 p.m. ET/delayed PT) on CBS. It will broadcast from Radio City Music Hall in New York City.

Outside of his Oscar-winning film roles and Emmy-nominated starring role on the Netflix series House of Cards, Spacey is a seasoned stage actor. He won a Tony in 1991 for his featured performance in the play Lost in Yonkers, and has also starred in the Broadway and West End productions of Long Day's Journey Into Night. He also took the title role in Sam Mendes' staging of Richard III, and won the Olivier Award for best actor in The Iceman Cometh. For more than a decade, Spacey served as the artistic director of The Old Vic Theatre Company in London and appeared onstage in its productions of National Anthems, The Philadelphia Story, Inherit the Wind and Darrow, among others.

"I was their second choice for Usual Suspects, fourth choice for American Beauty and 15th choice to host this year's Tony Awards. I think my career is definitely going in the right direction,” Spacey said in a statement. “Maybe I can get shortlisted to host the Oscars if everyone else turns it down."

Later, he tweeted a nod to this year's Oscars best picture flub, when Warren Beatty mistakenly named La La Land as the winner over Moonlight. "Honored to host the #TonyAwards2017," Spacey wrote, adding, "fingers crossed all the envelopes are in order."

Last year's Tony Awards were held at the Beacon Theatre and hosted by Tony winner and Late Late Show host James Corden. The Hamilton-heavy broadcast — during which the hit musical won 11 awards — was the most-watched Tonys in 15 years.

The awards eligibility cutoff date for all Broadway productions opening in the 2016-2017 season is April 27. Jane Krakowski and Christopher Jackson will announce the nominees May 2.