Tonys: Paper Mill Playhouse to Receive Regional Theater Honor

Bandstand Production Still Laura Osnes and Corey Cott - H 2015
Courtesy of Matthew Murphy

Established in 1938, the New Jersey venue has propelled a number of musicals to Broadway, including 'Newsies,' 'Honeymoon in Vegas' and the upcoming 'The Bandstand.'

The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced Monday that this year's recipient of the Regional Theatre Tony Award is Paper Mill Playhouse, a venue specializing in large-scale musicals in Millburn, N.J.

A vital force in tri-state area theater since 1938, Paper Mill has launched a number of shows that went on to Broadway or national tours, including Newsies, Godspell, Honeymoon in Vegas, the current Les Miserables revival and the upcoming The Bandstand, the 1940s-set swing musical that has been announced to transfer during the 2016-17 theater season.

Other recent musical productions seen at Paper Mill include The Hunchback of Notre Dame, from composer Alan Menken and lyricist Stephen Schwartz; Ever After, based on the Drew Barrymore movie; and A Bronx Tale: The Musical, adapted from Chazz Palminteri's one-man play and co-directed by Robert De Niro and Jerry Zaks. That show also is rumored to be eyeing a Broadway move.

The Regional Theater Tony is awarded each year to distinguished professional theater companies around the country. Eligibility in recent years has been opened up to include New York's off-Broadway theaters.

In other news announced Monday, special Tony Awards will be presented to the National Endowment for the Arts for the independent federal agency's contribution to the theater community; and to Miles Wilkin, COO and executive vp of Key Brand Entertainment and one of the founders of national touring network Broadway Across America.

Nominations in the competitive categories of the 70th Annual Tony Awards will be announced Tuesday in New York at 8:30 a.m. ET by Andrew Rannells and Nikki M. James (stepping in for the previously announced Patina Miller), live-streamed on The awards ceremony will be broadcast live ET/delayed PT on June 12 on CBS, hosted by James Corden.