Tonys: Bette Midler, Kevin Kline, Ben Platt Among Hollywood Stars Who Won Big

Laurie Metcalf and Cynthia Nixon also were among the night's winners.

Bette Midler, Kevin Kline, Laurie Metcalf, Ben Platt and Cynthia Nixon were among the Hollywood stars who made their presence known Sunday night at the 71st Annual Tony Awards.

Midler took home the final acting award of the night for best actress in a musical for Hello, Dolly! Midler, who began her career off-off-Broadway, went on to play Tzeitel in Fiddler on the Roof before joining the original cast of Salvation in 1969. Later, the actress went on to television and film with roles in Hocus Pocus, Beaches and even her own show, Bette. Midler is just an Oscar away from joining the elite EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony) winners club. The actress also gave a very memorable speech on Sunday night.

Winning lead actor in a play for Present Laughter makes this Kline's third Tony Award since his Broadway debut 44 years ago. The actor also has been nominated for BAFTA, Emmys and Golden Globe awards. In 1988, Kline won an Oscar for his role in the critically acclaimed film A Fish Called Wanda and has gone on to play roles in The Last Robin Hood, Bob's Burgers and this year's Beauty and the Beast.

Best known as Jackie Harris on the nine-year run of TV's Roseanne, Metcalf won the best actress in a play Tony on Sunday for A Doll's House, Part 2. While Metcalf has numerous theater credits, she will be seen back on television as her role of Roseanne Barr's sister, Jackie, in the upcoming reboot of Roseanne, in addition to roles in Lady Bird and Toy Story 4.

Nixon won the Tony for best performance by an actress in a featured role in a play for Lillian Hellman's The Little Foxes. Best known for her role as attorney Miranda Hobbes on Sex and the City, she can be seen in such upcoming projects as The Parting Glass and The Discreet Pleasures of Rejection.

Meanwhile, Platt won the Tony for best actor in a musical for Dear Evan Hansen. Before his breakout role in the best musical Tony winner, the actor was best known for his role in the Pitch Perfect franchise.

Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, who won an Oscar earlier this year for their work on La La Land,  won for best original score (music and/or lyrics) written for the theater for Dear Evan Hansen. With the two wins in their pockets, this puts the composers well on their way to the EGOT club.

The Tonys were handed out Sunday at New York City's Radio City Hall. Read all of The Hollywood Reporter's Tony Awards coverage here.