Tracy Morgan Joins Lineup for Eddie Murphy Mark Twain Prize Ceremony

Best: Tracy Morgan's Return
Phil McCarten/Invision for the Television Academy/AP Images

"It's been a long road back. I suffered a traumatic brain injury that put me in a coma for eight days," said Tracy Morgan before presenting the final award of the night. "When I finally regained consciousness, I was ecstatic to learn I wasn't the one who messed up. Only recently I've started to feel like myself again, which means a whole lot of y'all women are gonna get pregnant at the after-party."

Brittany Howard and George Lopez will also help honor Murphy on Oct. 18.

Tracy Morgan will help salute Eddie Murphy as he receives the nation's top prize for humor at the Kennedy Center in Washington later this month.

The Kennedy Center announced the addition of Morgan, Brittany Howard and George Lopez to the lineup Monday. Murphy will be awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on Oct. 18.

Performers include stars from Saturday Night Live, where Murphy had his early breakout, such as Chris Rock, Jay Pharoah, Kevin Nealon and Joe Piscopo. Other performers include Kathy Griffin, Arsenio Hall, Dave Chappelle, Trevor Noah and Whitney Cummings.

The tribute show will be broadcast Nov. 23 on PBS.

The humor prize honors those who influence society in the tradition of Samuel Clemens, the writer and satirist known as Mark Twain.