'Transformers 3,' 'Cars 2' and 'The Social Network' Among HPA Awards Nominees

"Transformers: Dark of the Moon"

"Mad Men," "Downton Abbey" and "Falling Skies" were three of the shows cited in the TV categories.

Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Cars 2 and The Social Network are among the diverse group of movies that have been nominated for the Hollywood Post Alliance's 2011 HPA Awards. 

Episodes of Mad Men, Downton Abbey and Falling Skies are among the TV nominees.

Through its awards, the HPA, which represents businesses and individuals involved in the postproduction process and is headed by president Leon Silverman, recognizes the work in 12 craft categories, spread across film, TV and commercials.

Winners will be announced during a gala evening Nov. 10 at the Skirball Center in Los Angeles.

The 2011 HPA Award nominees are:

Outstanding Color Grading Using a DI process – Feature Film
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon” -- Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3 
“The Help” -- Steven J. Scott // EFILM
“TRON: Legacy” -- Dave Cole // LaserPacific
“Sucker Punch” -- Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3
“Love and Other Drugs” -- Natasha Leonnet // EFILM 

Outstanding Color Grading – Television
“Too Big to Fail” -- Kevin O’Connor // Deluxe Media Services
“Breaking Bad – Box Cutter" -- Tom Sartori // Fotokem 
“Downton Abbey – Series 1 Episode 1” -- Aidan Farrell // The Farm Group for Carnival Film & Television
ESPN “Arthur Ashe Award for Courage" -- Siggy Ferstl // Company 3
"Mad Men – Blowing Smoke” -- Tim Vincent // LaserPacific

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial  
Nike “Chosen” -- Sean Coleman // Company 3
Jack Daniels “As American As” -- Tom Poole // Company 3 NY 
American Express “Curtain” -- Chris Ryan // Nice Shoes
Nissan “Zero” -- Siggy Ferstl // Company 3
Converse “The Procession” -- Tim Masick // Company 3 NY
Jameson “Fire” -- Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film
“Super 8” -- Maryann Brandon, A.C.E. and Mary Jo Markey, A.C.E.
"Cars 2" -- Stephen Schaffer, A.C.E. // Pixar Animation Studios
“The Social Network” -- Angus Wall, A.C.E. and Kirk Baxter, A.C.E.
“X-Men: First Class” -- Lee Smith, A.C.E. and Eddie Hamilton
“Black Swan” -- Andrew Weisblum, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Television
“Downton Abbey – Series 1 Episode 1” -- John Wilson, A.C.E. // Carnival Film & Television
“Rescue Me – Vows” -- Finnian Murray // Sony Pictures Television
“Dexter – Take It!” -- Louis Cioffi, A.C.E.
“The Wereth Eleven” -- Frederic Lumiere // Lumiere Media, Inc.
“Community – A Fistful of Paintballs” -- Steven Sprung, A.C.E. and Peter B. Ellis // Sony Pictures Television

Outstanding Editing – Commercial 
New Era “Philadelphia” -- Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial
American Express “Curtain” -- Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial
Lenovo “Anthem” --Erik Emond // Outside Editorial                       
New Era “One Hitter” -- Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial
American Express “Glass Blowing” -- Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film
“Green Lantern” -- John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Rick Kline // Warner Bros. Post Production Services
“Sucker Punch” -- Scott Hecker, Chris Jenkins, Frank Montano and Eric Norris // Universal Studios Sound
“Cars 2” -- Tom Myers, Michael Semanick and Michael Silvers // Skywalker Sound
“True Grit” -- John “Skip” Lievsay // Warner Bros. Post Production Services
“Fast Five” -- Peter Brown // Soundeluxe, John Taylor and Frank Montano // Universal Studios Sound

Outstanding Sound – Television
“Falling Skies – Prisoner of War” -- Mark Fleming, Tom Dahl and Michael Graham // Walt Disney Studio Post Production Services
“Too Big to Fail” --Michael Kirchberger, Chris Jenkins and Bob Beemer // Universal Studios Sound
“Downton Abbey – Series 1 Episode 1” -- Adam Armitage, Alex Sawyer, Nigel Heath, Stuart Bagshaw and Oliver Brierley // Hackenbacker for Carnival Film & Television
“Detroit 187 – Legacy/Drag City” -- Mark Fleming, Tom Dahl and Walter Newman // Walt Disney Studio Post Production Services
“House – Bombshells” -- Brad North, Joe DeAngelis, Luis Galdames and Jackie Oster // Universal Studios Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial 
Lurpak “Kitchen Odyssey” -- Aaron Reynolds // Wave Recording Studios
Conan “Devil’s Drop” -- Miky Wolf // Big Sky Editorial
Dream House “Trailer #1” -- David Brolin // Universal Studios Sound, Bill Neil // Buddha Jones Trailers
Nissan “Kidzilla” -- Jimmy Hite // Margarita Mix Santa Monica
Curry’s PC World “Galaxy” -- Aaron Reynolds // Wave Recording Studios

Outstanding Compositing – Feature Film
“The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” -- Julien Goldsbrough, Alex Payman and Jan Adamczyk // Framestore
“Water for Elephants” -- Paul Graff, Brian Sales, Gregory S. Scribner and Christina Spring // Crazy Horse Effects, Inc.
“X-Men: First Class” -- Matt Holland, Tim Hey, Norman Cates and GG Heitmann // Weta Digital
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon” -- Jeff Sutherland, Jason Billington, Chris Balog and Ben O’Brien // Industrial Light & Magic
“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1” -- Christian Kaestner, Kyle McCulloch, Russell Horth and Conrad Olson // Framestore

Outstanding Compositing – Television
“Necessary Roughness – Pilot Episode” -- Mark Intravartolo, Mitch Gates, Charley Carlat and Sarah McGrail // Encore
“Boardwalk Empire – Boardwalk Empire” -- Paul Graff, Brian Sales, Merysa Nichols and Jesse Siglow // Crazy Horse Effects Inc.
“No Ordinary Family – No Ordinary Double Standard” -- Jason Fotter, Matt Von Brock, Aldo Ruggiero and Eric Hayden // FuseFX
“Castle – Poof, You’re Dead” -- Brian McIntyre, Gevork Babityan and Jon Howard // Encore
“Boardwalk Empire – Family Limitation” -- John Corbett, Jun Zhang and Matthew Connor // Brainstorm Digital, Inc.

Outstanding Compositing – Commercial
Andrex Puppyworld “It’s the Little Things” -- Mike McGee, Russell Dodgson and Luke Drummond // Framestore
Dos Equis “Italian Countryside” -- Johnny Starace // Outside Editorial
Exxon Mobil “Molecule Route” -- Paul Grimshaw, Craig Hayes and Steve Beck // Spy Post
Coca Cola “Siege” -- Russell Dodgson, Matt Kasmir, Tom Sparks and Jonathan Hairman // Framestore
Jameson “Fire” -- Dan Glass, Gabby Gourrier, Chris Bankoff and Jeff Willette // Method Studios