'Trial of the Chicago 7' Cast to Receive Gotham Awards' First Ensemble Tribute

THE TRIAL OF THE CHICAGO 7 Still 9 - Publicity H 2020
Courtesy of Netflix

From left: Sacha Baron Cohen and Jeremy Strong in 'The Trial of the Chicago 7'

The award, previously a jury prize announced with each year's nominees, will be presented alongside honors for Ryan Murphy, Steve McQueen and 'Ma Rainey's Black Bottom' stars Viola Davis and Chadwick Boseman.

The Gotham Independent Film Awards will honor the cast of Aaron Sorkin's Netflix film The Trial of the Chicago 7 with its first-ever ensemble tribute.

The film, based on the true story of the anti-Vietnam War protesters charged surrounding the uprising at the 1968 Democratic National Convention, stars Sacha Baron Cohen, Eddie Redmayne, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Jeremy Strong, Mark Rylance, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Michael Keaton, Frank Langella, John Carroll Lynch, Alex Sharp, Kelvin Harrison Jr., Caitlin Fitzgerald, Alice Kremelberg and Ben Shenkman.

The honor was previously a jury award, with the recipient announced along with each year's Gotham Awards nominees. Juried ensemble award winners have previously included the casts of Mudbound, The Favourite, Moonlight and Spotlight.

As was the case with 2016 best picture Oscar winner Spotlight, the entire Trial of the Chicago 7 cast will be pushed for awards in the supporting acting categories.

“For our 30th anniversary, we are proud to introduce a new tribute honor, recognizing excellence in an ensemble cast," Jeffrey Sharp, executive director of IFP, which presents the Gotham Awards, said in a statement. “Starting this year and in the years to come, we look to celebrate a film that demonstrates the collaborative nature of a group performance and the effect that it has in elevating each individual, and the overall story. Each cast member of The Trial of the Chicago 7 delivers an intricate and powerful performance, and we are delighted to celebrate them and their cumulative achievement."

The Trial of the Chicago 7 cast will be honored alongside previously announced tribute recipients Ryan Murphy, Steve McQueen and Ma Rainey's Black Bottom stars Viola Davis and Chadwick Boseman.

Kelly Reichardt's First Cow leads this year's Gotham nominations with four nods, with the following films each earning two nods: Eliza Hittman's Never Rarely Sometimes Always, Chloé Zhao's Nomadland, Radha Blank's The Forty-Year-Old Version, Charlie Kaufman's I'm Thinking of Ending Things, Andrew Patterson's The Vast of Night, Channing Godfrey Peoples' Miss Juneteenth, Sean Durkin's The Nest and Alex Thompson's Saint Frances.

The 30th annual Gotham Awards ceremony will take place in a hybrid format on Monday, Jan. 11, live from the show's regular venue, New York's Cipriani Wall Street, with virtual interactive tables.