Tribeca 2012: Eleven Projects Win Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Awards

The Tribeca Film Institute also announces $92,000 in grants.

Writer/director Jeff Barnaby’s narrative film Rhymes for Young Gouls and Yoruba Richen’s documentary The New Black are among 11 projects that were selected to receive Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Awards.

PHOTOS: 10 of Tribeca 2012's Films to Watch

The winning projects, which will each receive $10,000 plus an original piece of art from a contemporary artist, were announced April 26 by the Tribeca Film Institute at a ceremony presented by Time Warner.

Rhymes for Young Ghouls took home Stephen Hannock’s Study: A Recent History of Art in Southern California (Mass MoCA #169), 2012 and The New Black received Hugo Tillman’s The Echeverria, 2008.

The Institute also announced this year’sTAA alumni grants and fellowships. The grants total $92,000 in funds. 

Now in its ninth year, TAA was created to foster and nurture relationships between film industry executives and filmmakers from traditionally underrepresented communities.  The 2012 TAA Creative Promise narrative jurors were Rosario Dawson, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Mekhi Phifer, and Gabourey Sidibe.  The award’s documentary jurors were Claire Aguilar, Julie Goldman, Eugene Hernandez, Jean Tsien, and Debbie Zimmerman

This year’s Tribeca All Access Creative Promise winners include:

TAA Creative Promise Award for Narrative

Rhymes for Young Ghouls

Jeff Barnaby (writer/director); John Christou & Aisling Chin-Yee (producers)

TAA Creative Promise Award for Documentary

The New Black

Yoruba Richen (director); Yvonne Welbon & Angela Tucker (producers)

 TAA Creative Promise Honorable Mention for Narrative


?Liliana Greenfield-Sanders (writer/director); Amy Basil & Rowen Riley (producers)

TAA Alumni Documentary Grants were awarded to:

The Path

Senain Kheshgi (director/producer); Rasheed Ahmed (producer, Pakistan)

Out Run

S. Leo Chiang & Johnny Symons (directors/producers)

TAA OnTrack Grants went to:

God Loves Uganda (Documentary)

?Roger Ross Williams (producer/director); Julie Goldman (producer)

I Am Nojood (Narrative)

Kadija Al-Salami (writer/director); Anne Hubbell & Amy Hobby (producers)

The TAA Adrienne Shelly Foundation Filmmaker Grant was awarded to:


Rose Troche (director); Susan Austin (writer); Amy Lo (producer)

The TAA Marketing & Web Fellowship was presented to:

An American Promise 

Michele Stephenson & Joe Brewster (directors/producers)

The Games for Change Fellowship for TAA Alumni was given to:

Wonder Women! The Untold Story of American Superheroines

Kristy Guevara-Flanagan (director); Kelcey Edwards (producer)

TAA Packaging the Pitch Grant went to:

Spies of Mississippi (Documentary)

Dawn Porter (director/producer)

Akilla’s Escape (Narrative)

Charles Officer (writer/director) Christina Piovesan (producer)