Tribeca: Bill Simmons, Bloomberg News' Mary Childs Among Disruptive Innovation Honorees

Don Juan Moore/ESPN Images
Bill Simmons

Vice's Shane Smith will also be honored at the April 24 event.

As part of the 2015 Tribeca Film Festival, the sixth annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards announced on Friday its honorees, which include Grantland's Bill Simmons, Bloomberg News' Mary Childs, Vice's Shane Smith and Brain Games host Jason Silva.

Additionally, the 2015 Book of the Year is Walter Isaacson's The Innovators: How a Group of Inventors, Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution, and the App of the Year is the subscription-based meditation app Headspace.

The awards — which are spearheaded by fest co-founder Craig Hatkoff in collaboration with Harvard Business School professor Clay Christensen and the Disruptor Foundation — celebrate innovators who have made an impact on industries and business models across a range of fields including sports, media, healthcare, social justice, education, politics and entertainment. They will take place at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center BMCC, at 11 a.m. on April 24.

The Tribeca Film Festival runs from April 15 to 26. See the full list of honorees below.

Advance Care Planning at Gundersen Health Systems
Ruzwana Bashir, founder and CEO of Peek
Jake Burton, founder of Burton Snowboards
Mary Childs, Bloomberg News reporter
Formula E
Aaron "Wheelz" Fotheringham, wheelchair motocross athlete 
Peter Greste, acclaimed Australian journalist and Peabody Award winner who was recently released after 13 months of wrongful political imprisonment in Egypt for his coverage for Al Jazeera English
Jennifer Hyman: co-founder and CEO of Rent the Runway
Brad Katsuyama: CEO, president, and co-founder of IEX
The David Lynch Foundation
Dr. Bill Magee, CEO and co-founder of Operation Smile
Alec Momont, founder of Drones For Good
Georgette Mulheir, chief executive of Lumos
Nanotronics Imaging
Alyse Nelson, president and CEO of Vital Voices Global Partnership
Reshma Saujani, founder and CEO of Girls Who Code
Jason Silva, host of National Geographic Channel's Brain Games
Bill Simmons: founder and editor-in-chief of Grantland
Shane Smith: founder and CEO of VICE
Tampon Run
Nicole Ticea
, HIV researcher
Darren Walker, president of the Ford Foundation