Tribeca Film Festival Sets 2017 Dates, Expands Call for Entries

Tribeca Film Festival - Publicity - H 2016
Courtesy of Tribeca Film Festival

Tribeca Film Festival - Publicity - H 2016

The fest, co-founded by Robert De Niro, also is calling for new work in virtual reality, television projects and branded storytelling.

The Tribeca Film Festival has set its 2017 dates.

The 16th edition of the film fest, presented by AT&T, will run April 19-30.

The festival — which was founded by Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Craig Hatkoff in 2001 following the attacks on the World Trade Center — also announced Monday its expansion in areas of submissions. This year, TFF will consider new work for its Virtual Arcade (virtual reality, 360 films, and augmented reality), television section (episodic storytelling, anticipated premieres and independent pilots) and N.O.W. program (new online work, stories created specifically for the online space) in addition to feature films, short films and experiential storytelling (Storyscapes) program.

Additionally, the fest will continue its Tribeca X award, launched last year, with a call for submissions for branded storytelling, looking for the best creative collaborations at the intersection of entertainment and brands.

TFF also continues to encourage women filmmakers through the Nora Ephron Prize. For the fourth year, the $25,000 award will recognize a female filmmaker whose work embodies the spirit and vision of legendary filmmaker and writer Nora Ephron.

Complete information regarding eligibility and rules and regulations for the 2017 Tribeca Film Festival is now available. See the deadlines below.

Sept. 6: Submissions open.
Oct. 19: Early deadline for feature and short films, TV and episodic storytelling, and new online work.
Nov. 23: Official entry deadline for feature and short films, TV and episodic storytelling, and new online work.
Dec. 2: Official entry deadline for short films and all experiential storytelling.
Dec. 14: Late entry deadline for feature length world-premiere films only and TV and episodic work.
Jan. 13: Early deadline for Tribeca X award.
Feb. 15: Official deadline for Tribeca X award.

Also announced was the promotion of Cara Cusumano, who began working at Tribeca in 2008, to director of programming. In her new role, she will be responsible for spearheading the feature film and TV programming. Cusumano will work alongside exec vp Paula Weinstein, festival director Genna Terranova, artistic director Frederic Boyer, vp of shorts Sharon Badal and the programming team: Liza Domnitz (features and online work), Loren Hammonds (virtual reality and features), Ian Hollander (features), Ben Thompson (shorts) and Tribeca Film Institute’s Ingrid Kopp (Storyscapes) and Opeyemi Olukemi (interactive).