Tribeca 2012: Michael Moore, Susan Sarandon and Dakota Fanning to Serve on the Festival's Juries

Getty Images

Irwin Winkler will serve as president of the jury.

Directors Michael Moore, Mike Newell and Jim Sheridan and actresses Susan Sarandon, Whoopi Goldberg and Dakota Fanning are among the 39 filmmakers, authors and industry professionals taking part in the six juries that will judge films at the Tribeca Film Festival, which runs April 18-29 in New York City.

Director-producer Irwin Winkler has been named president of the jury. Winners of the awards in six competitive categories will receive $175,000 in cash and prizes at the Goldberg-hosted TFF Awards Night ceremony April 26.

PHOTOS: 10 of Tribeca 2012's Films to Watch

The jurors for the world narrative competition are Fanning, Newell, Sheridan, Winkler, actress Patricia Clarkson and film critic Lisa Schwarzbaum. The world documentary competition will be judged by Moore, directors Julia Bacha and Lucy Walker, actress Kim Cattrall and poet K’naan.

The jury for the best new narrative director in the emerging competition category consists of Goldberg, actors Camilla Belle, Kellan Lutz and Leelee Sobieski; and filmmakers Susannah Grant, Zach Helm and Courtney Hunt. The jurors for the best new documentary director are manager Bethann Hardison, TV host Sal Masekela, actress Olivia Wilde, author Jared Cohen and filmmakers Stuart Blumberg, Rachel Grady and Ricki Stern.

The narrative short film competition will be judged by Maureen Chiquet, Hugh Dancy, Aline Brosh McKenna, Bridget Moynahan, Drew Nieporent, Mohammed Saeed Harib and Shari Springer Berman. The jurors for the documentary and student short film competitions are Sarandon, Scooter Braun, Robert Hammond, Brett Ratner, James Spione, Shailene Woodley and Susan Zirinsky.

The Tribeca Film Institute also has announced the nine individuals who will serve as jurors for the Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Awards. The winning projects will be announced April 26. The nonprofit also announced the three jurors for the Latin America Media Arts Fund, including the Heineken VOCES awards. Jurors for the TFI Sloan Filmmaker Fund were previously announced.

The TAA Creative Promise Award-Narrative will be judged by Rosario Dawson, Cuba Gooding Jr., Mekhi Phifer and Gabourey Sidibe. The jurors for the Creative Promise Award-Documentary are Claire Aguilar, Julie Goldman, Eugene Hernandez, Jean Tsien and Debra Zimmerman. Selecting the winners of the TFI Latin America  Arts Fund’s Heinekin VOCES awards are Fernando Rovzar, Cynthia Lopez and Ricardo Darin.

comments powered by Disqus