Tribeca: Autism Rom-Com 'Keep the Change' Among Jury Award Winners

Keep the Change Still - Publicity - H 2017
Courtesy of Tribeca Film Festival

Alessandro Nivola and Nadia Alexander were among the honorees in the acting categories.

Keep the Change, Son of Sofia and Bobbi Jene were among the winners of the Tribeca Film Festival’s jury awards.

The awards were presented on Thursday evening, but best narrative short winner Kaveh Mazaheri of Retouch was unable to secure a visa to travel from Iran due to President Donald Trump’s travel ban.

"The reason that I am not there is because of Mr. Trump’s fascinating decisions, and as the least consequence, I and my crew couldn’t get a U.S. visa and now I have to talk to you via this video," said Mazaheri. "I am delighted that the first Tribeca award for an Iranian short film is awarded to my film. I am pleased and humbled to accept this award. I would like to honorably present it to all immigrants around the world who are struggling for a better life."

The Tribeca Film Festival runs through Sunday.

The winners of the audience awards were announced Saturday, with documentary Hondros, following the life award-winning photographer Chris Hondros beginning with the war in Kosovo in 1999 to his capture and death in Libya in 2011. The film was directed by Hondos' childhood friend Greg Campbell and Jake Gyllenhaal was an executive producer.

Also taking home an audience award was The Divine Order, a Swiss film following a quiet housewife from a quaint village searching for the fierce suffragette leader she knows she can be in 1970s Switzerland.

U.S. Narrative Feature Competition Categories
Founders Award for best narrative feature: Keep the Change, written and directed by Rachel Israel
Best actor: Alessandro Nivola, One Percent More Humid
Best actress: Nadia Alexander, Blame
Best cinematography: Chris Teague, Love After Love
Best screenplay: Angus MacLachlan, Abundant Acreage Available

International Narrative Feature Competition Categories
Best international narrative feature: Son of Sofia (O Gios tis Sofias), written and directed by Elina Psykou (Greece, Bulgaria, France)
Best actor: Guillermo Pfening, Nobody’s Watching (Nadie Nos Mira)
Best actress: Marie Leuenberger, The Divine Order (Die göttliche Ordnung)
Best cinematography: Mart Taniel, November
Best screenplay: Bohdan Sláma, Ice Mother (Bába z ledu)

Documentary Competition Categories
Best documentary feature: Bobbi Jene, directed by Elvira Lind
Best cinematography: Elvira Lind, Bobbi Jene
Best editing: Adam Nielson, Bobbi Jene (special jury mention: True Conviction)

Best new narrative director: Rachel Israel, Keep the Change

Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award: Sarita Khurana and Smriti Mundhra, A Suitable Girl (special jury mention: Hondros)

Nora Ephron Prize: Petra Volpe, writer-director of The Divine Order  (special jury mention: Keep the Change)

Short Film Competition Categories:
Best narrative short: Retouch, directed by Kaveh Mazaheri
Best animated short:Odd Is an Egg (Odd er et egg), directed by Kristin Ulseth
Best documentary short: The Good Fight, directed by Ben Holman (special jury mention: Resurface)
Student Visionary Award: Fry Day, directed by Laura Moss (special jury mention: Dive)

Storyscapes Award: Treehugger: Wawona, created by Barnaby Steel, Ersin Han Ersin and Robin McNicholas of Marshmallow Laser Feast