Trio to be honored at Palm Springs fest

Nods go to Dustin Hoffman, Gus Van Sant, Alexandre Desplat

Dustin Hoffman has been named the recipient of the 20th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival's Chairman's Award.

The fest, which will bestow its honors at a Jan. 6 awards gala at the Palm Springs Convention Center, also will recognize director Gus Van Sant with its Sonny Bono Visionary Award and composer Alexandre Desplat with its Frederick Loewe Award for film composing.

Hoffman stars in Overture Films' "Last Chance Harvey," which serves as the festival's opening-night film on Jan. 8. It hits theaters Thursday.

Van Sant has directed two films released this year, "Paranoid Park" and "Milk." Desplat composed the score for "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," which also opens nationally Thursday.

The festival, which runs through Jan. 19, will screen 210 films from 73 countries.