Trio re-elected to WGAW board


The only three incumbents standing for re-election were returned to the WGA West board for new two-year terms in vote results announced Tuesday.

Directors Aaron Mendelsohn, Ron Bass and John F. Bowman were among eight victors from 17 candidates in voting by WGAW membership. With 1,156 ballots cast, Mendelsohn drew 745 votes, representing 10.2% of all votes cast; Bass received 727 votes, or 9.9% of the total; and Bowman got 458 votes, or 6.3%.

TV writer Robin Schiff ("Party of Five") drew the most votes with 800 (10.9%). Others gaining board seats include Mark Gunn (598, 8.2%), David A. Goodman (564, 7.7%), Kathy Kiernan (547, 7.5%) and Nancy De Los Santos (476, 6.5%).

Remaining candidates in order of vote tallies include Karen Harris, Dawn Prestwich, John Wirth, Saladin K. Patterson, Naren Shankar, Warren Hutcherson, William Schmidt, Jose Rivera and Hollis Rich.

Voting was allowed by mail and in person at the WGAW annual membership meeting, held Monday in Los Angeles. The WGA board comprises three officers and 16 directors, half of whom are elected annually.

Current hot-button issues for the guild include a quest for higher residuals for the digital re-use of materials written by WGA members. That, and a current campaign to organize producer-writers of the reality show "America's Next Top Model," will figure in a rally set for Thursday morning at Pan Pacific Park in Los Angeles.

WGAW president Patric Verrone has issued a call to membership to attend the rally "to demonstrate to the industry that we are dedicated to our goals of fairness and respect for all writers."