Trio set for Drama League awards


Paul Gemignani, Bartlett Sher and Ellen Stewart will receive the Drama League's three annual specialty awards May 16 at the league's 74th annual ceremony.

Gemignani, who has been the musical director for more than 35 Broadway shows, will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award. Sher, director of Lincoln Center's current revival of "South Pacific" and "The Light in the Piazza," will be honored with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing. La MaMa E.T.C. founder Stewart will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award.

The honores will be presented along with the league's five annual production and performance awards.

Harvey Fierstein will host, and co-chairs will be Bobby Cannavale, Laurence Fishburne, Peter Gallagher, Cheyenne Jackson, Laura Linney, S. Epatha Merkerson, Rosie Perez, Martha Plimpton and Patrick Stewart.