'Tudors,' 'Garage' top Irish awards


UPDATED 2:32 p.m. PT Feb. 18
CORRECTED 2:32 p.m. PT Feb. 18

"The Tudors" reigned supreme at the fifth annual Irish Film & Television Awards in Dublin on Sunday night, walking away with seven IFTAs, the most any single TV or film title has gained in the award's five-year history.

The Showtime series about the life of King Henry VIII, won the best drama series/soap award, while actors Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Maria Doyle Kennedy and Nick Dunning also won IFTA statues.

"Tudors" costume designer Joan Bergin, production designer Tom Conroy and hair and makeup team Jennifer Hegarty and Dee Corcoran also were winners on the night.

On the feature film side, a strongly contested race saw "Kings" and "Garage" emerge as the top winners, with five and four awards, respectively.

Irish-language drama "Kings" dominated the craft categories, taking nods for original score, sound and editing, among others, while "Garage" picked up the IFTAs for best film, director (Lenny Abrahamson), script (Mark O'Halloran) and actor in a lead role (Pat Shortt).

Writer/director team O'Halloran and Abrahamson also earned the top writing and directing kudos on the TV side for their urban drama series "Prosperity." Irish-language series "The Running Mate" took the best single drama award.

Mel Gibson was presented with the Outstanding Contribution to World Cinema Award and received a standing ovation. Gibson, of Irish descent, shot "Braveheart" in Ireland.

The best international actress award went to Hilary Swank for "P.S. I Love You," filmed in Ireland and based on a novel by Cecilia Aherne, daughter of the Irish Taoiseach (prime minister).

Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck's "The Lives of Others" was named best international film, and Daniel Day Lewis took the international actor nod for "There Will Be Blood."

Young Irish actress Saoirse Ronan was another standout winner on the night, taking the supporting actress film and the Irish Film Board Rising Star awards for her role in multiple Oscar nominee "Atonement." Irish cinematographer Seamus McGarvey was honored with a DOP award for his work behind the camera.

The awards took place at Dublin's historic and recently renovated Gaiety Theatre.

A complete list of winners follows:


Film: "Garage" (Element Pictures Distribution)
International Film: "The Lives of Others" (Lionsgate)
Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson, "Garage" (Element Pictures Distribution)
Script Film: Mark O'Halloran, "Garage" (Element Pictures Distribution)
Actor in a Lead Role Film: Pat Shortt, "Garage" (Element Pictures Distribution)
Actor in a Supporting Role Film: Brendan Conroy, "Kings" (Newgrange Pictures)
Actress in a Supporting Role Film: Saoirse Ronan, "Atonement" (Universal)
International Actor: Daniel Day Lewis, "There Will Be Blood"


Single Drama / Drama Serial: "The Running Mate" (Rubicon Films)
Drama Series / Soap: "The Tudors" (World 2000)
Director Television: Lenny Abrahamson, "Prosperity" (Element Pictures)
Script Television: Mark O'Halloran, "Prosperity" (Element Pictures)
Actor in a Lead Role Television: Jonathan Rhys Meyers, "The Tudors" (World 2000)
Actor in a Supporting Role Television: Nick Dunning, "The Tudors" (World 2000)
Actress in a Lead Role Film/Television: Aisling O'Sullivan, "The Clinic" (Parallel Film Productions)
Actress in a Supporting Role Television: Maria Doyle Kennedy, "The Tudors" (World 2000)


Costume Design: Joan Bergin, "The Tudors" (World 2000)
Director of Photography: Seamus McGarvey, "Atonement" (Universal)
Editing: Dermot Diskin, "Kings" (Newgrange Pictures)
Hair & Makeup: Jennifer Hegarty, Dee Corcoran, "The Tudors" (World 2000)
Original Score: Pol Brennan, "Kings" (Newgrange Pictures)
Production Design: Tom Conroy, "The Tudors" (World 2000)
Sound: Ken Galvin, Ronan Hill, Dominic Weaver, "Kings" (Newgrange Pictures)


Children's / Youth Programme: "Aifric" (Telegael Media Group)
Current Affairs Programme: "Prime Time Investigates -- Not Seen, Not Heard" (RTE)
Documentary Series: "The Hospice" (Yellow Asylum Films)
Single Documentary: "At Home with the Clearys" (Tern Television)
Entertainment: "The Podge & Rodge Show" (RTE)
Factual Entertainment: "Diarmuid's Pony Kids" (Vision Independent Pictures)
News Programme: "BBC Newsline" (BBC Northern Ireland)
Sport: "Tall, Dark & O hAilpin" (Telegael Media Group)


Special Irish Language Award: "Kings" (Newgrange Pictures)
Irish Film Board Rising Star 2008: Saoirse Ronan
Animation: "Skunk Fu!" (Cartoon Saloon)
Short Film: "New Boy" (Steph Green /Tamara Anghie)
Pantene People's Choice Award for Best International Actress: Hilary Swank, "P.S. I Love You"
Sony Bravia TV Personality of the Year: Kathryn Thomas, RTE
Outstanding Contribution to World Cinema: Mel Gibson