TV Academy to Honor Big Four at June Gala

Associated Press

The event coincides with the opening of the Saban Media Center, part of the $40 million campus renovations.

To help ring in the 70th anniversary of the Television Academy, and the newly built Saban Media Center, a June 2 gala will double as a celebration of the Big Four broadcast networks.

ABC, CBS, Fox and NBC will all receive a Hall of Fame Cornerstone Award, recognizing the networks' respective roles in shaping the television industry. “Without the stalwart courage, passion and creativity of countless visionaries at each of these four networks, this magical thing called television would have never evolved and the extraordinary innovations and possibilities that the future holds for our industry would never become reality," said TV Academy chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum.

On hand to accept the awards on behalf of the respective nets is Disney-ABC TV Group's Ben Sherwood, recent CBS chief Nina Tassler, Fox Networks Group Chairman and CEO Peter Rice and NBC Entertainment's Bob Greenblatt.

“Because of these iconic players, television has enjoyed decades of exceptional creativity and business success," added TV Academy Hall of Fame chair Rick Rosen. "Looking forward, each will clearly continue to be a material part of a magnificent new golden age that is just beginning.”

This year is a big one for the Academy. On top of the festivities around the 70th anniversary, the Academy also launches the Saban Media Center — part of a $40 million refresh of its North Hollywood Campus. The 600-seat theater, featuring Dolby technology not found in any other noncommercial U.S. theater, includes production spaces, offices for the Academy’s philanthropic arm and a conference center. It replaces the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre, which closed in 2014.

The June 2 gala will include a “class photo” featuring television actors past and present.