Classic TV Stars Reunite for TV Land Awards

The cast of "In Living Color," including Jim Carrey and the Wayans brothers, reunited on stage to accept the Groundbreaking Award; "Laverne & Shirley" was awarded the Fan Favorite Award.

The 10th Annual TV Land Awards commenced last night, reuniting heavyweight stars from the 70s and 80s. Television and film icons (Jim Carrey, Candice Bergen, Pee-Wee Herman, Shawn Wayans, Marlon Wayans, Keenan Ivory Wayans and Fran Drescher) joined music icons (Aretha Franklin) for a night of honors in New York.

The gala event premieres on TV Land on Sunday, April 29 as a 90-minute special at 9pm ET/PT. The night was hosted for the second time by Kelly Ripa, who had 13(!) costume changes throughout the evening. Ripa kicked off the show from the ceiling, coming down dressed as Catwoman.

Later in the evening, Murphy Brown co-star Faith Ford danced like her alter ego on the show, Corky, and Jim Carrey gave a heartfelt speech when accepting the Groundbreaking Award with his fellow cast members of In Living Color.

The night also featured amazing performances by Music Icon Award-winner Aretha Franklin singing her hit songs RESPECT, Chain of Fools, I Came To Lift Him Up and Ombra Mai Fu. The In Living Color Fly Girls danced out the show with Ripa to The B-52’s Rock Lobster.

Read below for a list of tribute award winners.

The Fan Favorite Award: Laverne & Shirley. Presented by Katie Couric, Laverne & Shirley stars Penny Marshall, Cindy Williams, Michael McKean and David Lander accepted the honor.

The Impact Award: The cast of Murphy Brown. The Impact Award is given to a series that offered both entertainment and enlightenment with comedy that reflected reality. Kelly Ripa presented the award to show stars Candice Bergen, Faith Ford, Grant Shaud, Charles Kimbrough and Joe Regalbuto – as well as show creator Diane English.

The Groundbreaking Award: In Living Color. Whoopi Goldberg presented the award to creator and star Keenen Ivory Wayans, as well as series stars Jim Carrey, Tommy Davidson, Shawn Wayans, Marlon Wayans, Kelly Coffield Park, Kim Wayans, T’Keyah Crystal Keymah, David Alan Grier and former Fly Girls Carrie Ann Inaba, Laurieann Gibson, Lisa Marie Todd, Deidre Lang and Michelle Whitney-Morrison.

The Pop Culture Award: Pee-wee’s Playhouse. Paul Reubens' children's show has been a staple in pop culture for over 25 years and accepted the award on behalf of the series from presenter Mike Myers.

The Music Icon Award: Aretha Franklin. The Queen of Soul brought down the house with four of her hit songs and accepted her award from presenter John Legend, who serenaded her on stage.

The Innovator Award: One Day at a Time. Presented by Fran Drescher, star of TV Land’s Happily Divorced, the cast of One Day at a Time Valerie Bertinelli, Bonnie Franklin, Mackenzie Phillips, Pat Harrington, Glenn Scarpelli and Richard Masur accepted the award on behalf of the series.