TV One hits 'Funny Spot'


TV One, the network that targets black viewers, on Wednesday announced a new stand-up comedy series hosted by Tony Rock, brother of Chris Rock and former cast member on the sitcom "All of Us." The series, titled "The Funny Spot," will feature comedians offering up their perspectives of the world as well as glimpses of the action behind-the-scenes and a regular segment, "On the Spot," where the performers answer tough questions from Rock and the audience.

Comics set to perform on the show include "Last Comic Standing" finalists Geoff Brown, Corey Holcomb and Retha Jones as well as Joe Clair, Rudy Rush, Alex Thomas, Franklyn Ajaye, Chris Spencer, Michael Colyar, Esau McGraw, David Arnold and Rodney Perry. Damon Wayans and Kevin Hart also planning to make appearances. The weekly, hourlong series -- filmed at the Comedy Union in Los Angeles -- debuts at 10 p.m. ET on Jan. 19. It's exec produced by Rock, Comedy Union owner Enss Mitchell and Jamie Balthazar and Gina Holland of Ruby Red Media.