Twice is nice for Mansell at Soundtrack Awards


GHENT, Belgium -- English composer Clint Mansell was a double winner for his music in Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain" at the World Soundtrack Awards presented here on Saturday. Mansell won the prize for best original soundtrack as well as the Public Choice Award.

France's Alexandre Desplat was named film composer of the year for scoring "The Queen" and "The Painted Veil" and David Arnold picked up the best original song award for "You Know My Name," written with Chris Cornell for the James Bond film "Casino Royale."

Greek legend Mikis Theodorakis ("Zorba the Greek") was given a lifetime achievement award while Daniel Tarrab and Andres Goldstein shared the Discover of the Year prize for their work on "XXY" and "Inheritance." The award for best young Belgian composer prize was awarded to Werner Viaene for "Belgium, the Movie" by Wim Robberechts.

Los Angeles-based Mansell, a former rocker with the band Pop Will Eat Itself, thanked Aronofsky for giving him the chance to write film music on "Requiem for a Dream" (2000) and the Kronos Quartet and the band Mogwai for performing his score. The self-effacing composer from Britain's midlands seemed genuinely surprised when his name was later called for the best soundtrack prize, triumphing over Mychael Danna for "Little Miss Sunshine," Philip Glass for "Notes on a Scandal," Harry Gregson-Williams for "Shrek the Third" and David Shire for "Zodiac."

"This is really great, fantastic," he said, struggling for words. "Speak up, son," encouraged his retired business analyst father in the audience. Mansell, who scored Adam Brooks' upcoming "Definitely, Maybe," said later that he had been overwhelmed at receiving the award from triple Oscar-winning composer Maurice Jarre ("Lawrence of Arabia," "Dr. Zhivago," "A Passage to India").

Thanking the musicians, he said: "When I think of all the man-hours they have put in to make me look good, it makes me very grateful."

Desplat was not on hand to accept his award as he is in London scoring Chris Weitz's upcoming fantasy adventure "The Golden Compass." In a video message, he thanked the directors of his films, Stephen Frears and John Curran, and praised the French composers who had inspired him, especially Jarre and Georges Delerue. Accepting the award for Desplat from Flanders International Film Festival chief Jacques Dubrulle, Jarre chided the absent winner: "Promise me next time you will be here!"

Theodorakis also send a video message in which he said he was sending lifelong friend and collaborator, Turkish composer Zulfu Livaneli to accept his award. The two work hard in the cause of Greek and Turkish friendship and Theodorakis said Livaneli's appearance was intended to be symbolic of their work.

Livaneli praised his Greek colleague for using "his work, his art and his life to contribute to peace in the world."

Goldstein and Tarab said they shared their Discovery prize with "the great team in Buenos Aires that work with us," with Tarab adding: It is overwhelming to be here among so many composers that I respect and admire so much."

The awards ceremony, hosted by Belgian Television film critic Roel Van Bamboost and British broadcaster Tommy Pearson, featured performances of film music by Theodorakis, Danna, Gregson-Williams, Evanthia Reboutsika and Jeff Neve.

Awards in the Flanders film festival, handed out earlier, went to Stefan Ruzowitzky's "The Counterfeiters" for best film; Roy Anderson's "You the Living" for best music, and Tamara Jenkins' "The Savages" for best screenplay. Saverio Constanzo was named best director for "In Memory of Me" and actors Saleh Bakri and Ronit Elkabetz won a special mention from the jury for "The Band's Visit." Kathleen Turner headed the jury at the festival, which ran Oct. 9-20.