Former Disney Chief Dick Cook, 'Twilight' Director Bill Condon Join Academy's Board of Governors

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Dante Spinotti, Lisa Cholodenko, John Knoll and Scott Millan also among new board members.

Former Disney studio chief Dick Cook and Twilight: Breaking Dawn director Bill Condon have been elected to the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. They are among six new, first-time board members, who also include Dante Spinotti, Lisa Cholodenko, John Knoll and Scott Millan.

Spinotti will represent the cinematogrpahers branch; Cholodenko, the directors branch; Cook, executives; Knoll, visual effects; Millan, sound; and Condon, writers.

PHOTOS: 'The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2' New Character Posters Revealed

Three former board members -- director Michael Mann, composer Arthur Hamilton and producer Kathleen Kennedy -- are returning to the board after a hiatus. Mann previously served from 2000 to 2006. Hamilton, who most recently served from 2008 to 2011 representing the music branch, has been a member of the board of governors for a total of 33 years. Kennedy was on the board from 1994 to 1997 and again from 2002 to 2011.

Additionally, seven incumbent governors were re-elected: Tom Hanks, actors; Jim Bissell, designers; Rob Epstein, documentary; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup and hairstylists; Rob Friedman, public relations; and Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch is represented by a single governor.

At the end of 2011, directors branch governor Paul Mazursky stepped down from his seat on the board. Cholodenko was elected to complete the two years remaining on his term, and Mann was elected to a new three-year term.

STORY: Director Bill Condon Confirms 'Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part 2' Reshoots

Governors who were not up for re-election and who continue on the board are Ed Begley Jr. and Annette Bening, actors branch; John Bailey and Richard Crudo, cinematographers; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, designers; Kathryn Bigelow, directors; Michael Apted and Michael Moore, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Anne V. Coates and Michael Tronick, film editors; Charles Fox and David L. Newman, music; Gale Anne Hurd and Hawk Koch, producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Marvin Levy, public relations; Jon Bloom and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, visual effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, writers.

The board next meets July 31 to elect officers, including a new president, for the coming year.