UC Berkeley tops ATAS' college TV awards

Tom Bergeron hosts ceremony Saturday night

UC Berkeley led the field of winners at the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation's 30th College Television Awards with four. Also nabbing multiple wins at the event Saturday night were UCLA (three) and Brigham Young University, Northwestern University and AFI (two each) The ceremony, hosted by "Dancing With the Stars" host Tom Bergeron, was held at the Culver Studios.

Presenters included Masi Oka ("Heroes"), Carlos Bernard ("24"), Chris O'Donnell ("Grey's Anatomy"), Christine Devine (Fox 11 News), Amber Stevens ("Greek"), Timothy Omundson ("Psych"), Shailene Woodley ("Secret Life of an American Teenager"), Jim Parsons ("The Big Bang Theory"), Ricardo Chavira ("Desperate Housewives"), Jordana Spiro ("My Boys") and Navi Rawat ("Numbers"). AFI's Ugandan war drama "Acholiland" received the prestigious $4,000 Bricker Humanitarian Award, with its director, Dean Israelite, also winning
 the $1,000 Directing Award.

The TV Academy Foundation received a record number of submissions this year -- 712 student videos and films from 214 schools in 42 states. The foundation awarded $2,000 for first-place recipients, $1,000 for second and $500 for third. Several also received film stock grants from Kodak and product from Final Draft Scriptwriting Software.

The College Television Awards recognize excellence in undergraduate and graduate student video, digital and film production in 12 categories: Animation, Children's, Comedy, Commercial, Documentary, Drama, Interactive Media, Magazine, Music Composition and Music Best Use, Newscasts and Series.

For a full list of winners, including second- and third-place finishers, visit www.emmysfoundation.org
comments powered by Disqus