UCLA Announces 2014 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Award Winners

Courtesy of UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television

Previous recipients of the top prize include Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray and Eric Roth

Han-Yee Ling (Spaghetti Bridges) won first prize at the 59th annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards held at UCLA on Nov. 3.

Kevin Human (Hell is Other Cowboys) and Gaia Violo (Absentia) tied for second, Teresa Sullivan and A.J. Marchisello (Doubleblind) took third, and Dan Patrick (The Village of Sweet Dreams) earned honorable mention. Judges for 2014 were filmmmaker Allison Anders (herself a past Goldwyn winner), producer Ben Feingold, former Sony Pictures president worldwide home entertainment, digital distribution and product acquisitions, and Screen International U.S. editor Jeremy Kay.

Previous winners of the award have won a collective 27 Oscars, 35 Golden Globes, and 87 Emmys, and the list includes Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray, Eric Roth and novelist Jonathan Kellerman. “These very talented students now join the ranks of three generations of Goldwyn winners whose talent, craft and education have enriched and advanced the art of filmmaking,” said Samuel Goldwyn, Jr. in a statement.

Read more Academy Reveals Nicholl Fellowship Winners