UCLA scribes top Goldwyn awards


Andrew Cypiot and Brian Larsen, graduate students in screenwriting at the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, tied for first prize in the Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards for their respective screenplays, "Flying Start" and "Burning Down Phoenix."

The 51st annual awards recognizing excellence in dramatic writing were announced Monday by Samuel Goldwyn Jr., president of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, in a ceremony on the UCLA Westwood campus.

Additional Goldwyn winners are: Angela Mrema, a graduate student in directing at UCLA; Don Cabreana, an undergraduate student in English, theater and performance at UC Berkeley; and Nick Pasto, an undergraduate in biopsychology from UC Santa Barbara.

First-prize winners Cypiot and Larsen received $15,000 each; third prize winner Mrema took home $4,000; and the honorable mentions for Cabreana and Pasto were each worth $2,000.

Judging this year were screenwriter Eric Roth, producer Lorne Michaels, film critic Leonard Maltin and writer-producer-director Leonard Stern.

This year, 120 feature-length screenplays were submitted from students at eight UC campuses. Entries were judged on the basis of imagination, craft and emotional power.

Samuel Goldwyn Sr. inaugurated the awards in 1955.