Ucross Reveals Fall 2018 Artists in Residence

Previous fellowship recipients include Colson Whitehead and Annie Proulx.

Artist residency program Ucross has announced its 2018 artists, who are given the opportunity to work and live on on a 20,000-acre working cattle ranch in Wyoming.

A total of 51 artists were selected from more than 300 applicants, and they work in a range of disciplines from writing to dance to sculpture. Some of them come from partnerships with Pew Fellowships in the Arts, The Ford Family Foundation, the Aura Estrada Prize, the Elaine Lebenbom Prize (Detroit Symphony Orchestra), the Alley Theatre and the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts.

“Ucross is honored to welcome these gifted individuals who have shown creative excellence, whether as emerging artists or more experienced,” said Ucross president Sharon Dynak.

Founded in 1981, Ucross has produced 10 Pulitzer Prize winners, seven Tony Award winners, six National Book Award winners and two Academy Award winners. Ucross alumni include authors Colson Whitehead and Annie Proulx as well as Grammy, Oscar and Tony winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.

A full list of fall 2018 artists in residence follows.

Writing: Sherwin Bitsui, Liliana Colanzi, Amanda Eggert, Stefani Farris, Natalie Goldberg, Jennifer Haigh, Suki Kim, Serena Lin, Vanessa Londono, Alex Madison, Ryan Matthews, Gary Miller, Felice Neals, Linda Norton, Sigrid Nunez, Matthew Schnirman, Yasmeen Siddiqui, Mark Spragg, Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney and Jung Yun.

Visual Arts: Carla Bengtson, Kathleen Caprario, Renee Couture, Craig Goodworth, Tessa Hulls, Munson Hunt, Hedieh Javanshir Ilchi, Mahima Kapoor, Neerja Kothari, Brenda Mallory (Ucross Fellow for Native American Visual Artists), Deborah Mitchell and Samantha Ritchie.

Music/Dance: Ken Field, Daniel Gwirtzman, Aubrey Johnson, Mary Lattimore, Juliet Palmer, Rajna Swaminathan and Errollyn Wallen.

Theatre Artists: Glen Berger, Oliver Houser, Mikaal Sulaiman

Multidisciplinary Groups: Visual artists Will Cotton, Lebrie Rich, Bill Will and Emma Elizabeth Downing; music/dance artists Lavinia Vago and Kate Wallich; and writers Louise Steinman and Susan Banyas.