UGS to present second Prevert nod


PARIS -- French screenwriters union the UGS will celebrate Jacques Prevert's birthday Feb. 4 as it awards its second annual Jacques Prevert Script Prize for best French screenplay, the UGS said Thursday.

Gallic director Daniele Thompson will preside over the ceremony at Paris' Orangerie restaurant.

Thompson's 2008 jury includes fellow screenwriters Pascal Kane, Olivier Lorelle, Loraine Levy, Juliette Sales, Jerome Soubeyrand, Gilles Taurand, Anne Louise Trividic, Pierre Uytterhoeven and Philippe Vuaillat.

This year, the winner in the best original screenplay category will see 4,000 copies of his script printed and distributed at newstands around the country as a supplement to the screenwriters' magazine "La Gazette des Scenaristes."

Last year's award for best original screenplay went to Christopher Turpin and Laurent Tuel for Tuel's "Jean-Philippe," while the best adaptation award went to Michel Hazanavicius' "OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies."